A Brief History of the Sorority

Sigma Sigma Sigma was founded on April 20, 1898, in Farmville, Virginia, at the State Female Normal School (now Longwood University). The founding women were Margaret Lee Batten, Louise Marie Davis, Martha Trent Featherston, Isabella Merrick, Sallie Jackson Michie, Lelia Scott, Elizabeth Watkins, and Lucy Wright. Since then, the sisterhood they built and strived for has grown to what it is now today with chapters across the country.

  • Jewel

    Our Sorority's jewel is the Pearl.

  • Flower

    The official flower is the purple violet.

  • Symbol

    Our official symbol is the sailboat.