What are Standing Committees?

The S.S.A. has 8 standing committees that meet on a regular basis. These committees are chaired by one of the officers of the S.S.A. and senators sit on the committee as voting members. The committees include Financial Affairs Committee (F.A.C.), Organizational Affairs Committee (O.A.C.), Executive Board Committee (E.B.C.), Diversity and Inclusivity Council, Sustainability Council, Visibility and Outreach Council, Information Technology Committee and the Congressional Committee. Standing committees are part of the University Student Senate, SSA's legislative branch. Some committees host independent events and projects, while committees can also discuss and introduce resolutions that make their way to the full University Student Senate.

Financial Affairs Committee (F.A.C.)

The Director of Financial Affairs chairs the committee and the purpose of the committee is to distribute allocable segregated fee dollars to student organizations who ask for money and meet certain criteria including but not limited to UW-System policy, SSA standing policy, and Annual budget rules.

Organizational Affairs Committee (O.A.C.)

The Director of Organizational Affairs chairs the committee and the purpose is to regularly recommend to the SSA for the creation, renewal, and support for a student organization on campus.

Executive Board Committee (E.B.C.)

The President chairs the committee and the purpose of the committee is to review, recommend, and implement all internal and external actions by the S.S.A.

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Council

The Director of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion chairs the committee and the purpose of the council is to strive to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion on the UW-Stout Campus. The Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Council  serves as a representative to marginalized students on campus and the cultural & identity organizations on campus.

Sustainability Council

The Director of Sustainability chairs the Sustainability Council. The purpose of the council is to assist in managing sustainable projects, monitor environmental policies, research and assess environmental issues within the UW-Stout community, provide recommendations affecting issues of environmentalism and distribute the Green Fee Fund to projects.

Visibility and Outreach Committee

The Director of Communication chairs this committee and the purpose of the committee is to work to increase student participation in S.S.A. and create and sponsor opportunities for the members of the University Student Senate to interact with students and the public.

Student Information Technology Committee

The Director of Information Technology chairs the committee and the purpose of the committee is to manage the Student Technological Fee allocation process and to improve student access to technology on campus

Congressional Committee


The Director of Legislative Affairs chairs the committee. The purpose of the committee is to track. monitor, and learn about legislation and other government issues that impact the students and the university.