

University Student Senate 50th Congress U.S.S. 50.08.02

Date Introduced: October 22, 2019

Moved by: Senator Schwitzer

Seconded by: Senator Leonhard

Sponsored by: Sustainability Council

Title: Carbon Neutral by 2050 Resolution for the City of Menomonie

Whereas, The University of Wisconsin – Stout prides itself on its sustainability practices and is constantly pursuing ways to further reduce the climate impact of the campus;

Whereas, what is good for the City of Menomonie is good for the University of Wisconsin – Stout;

Whereas, the Sustainability Council has met with Eau Claire Councilwoman Kate Beaton and has reviewed the Carbon Neutral by 2050 resolution which she spearheaded in the City of Eau Claire;

Whereas, the Sustainability Council has reviewed the resolution passed by the City of Eau Claire and has found it to be appropriate in the face of the ever-growing climate change issue that impacts all citizens of the world;

Whereas, Dane County and the cities of La Crosse, Green Bay, and Madison have also adopted similar resolutions to become carbon neutral by the year 2050;

Whereas, the Sustainability Council has discussed and approved this resolution;

Be it therefore resolved, we the U.S.S of the S.S.A, support the resolution brought forward by the Wisconsin Conservation Voters, requesting that the City of Menomonie adopt a resolution in favor of becoming carbon neutral by the year 2050.

Be it further resolved, this motion shall be distributed to Mayor Randy Knaack, Interim Chancellor Patrick Guilfoile, Vice Chancellor Phil Lyons, the City Council of Menomonie, Eau Claire Councilwoman Kate Beaton, Senator Abrina Leonhard, Senator Jacob Schwitzer, and Sustainability Manager Sarah Rykal.

Date acted upon: Month Day, Year	
Action: Passed, Denied, Postponed, Etc.	
Vote: (Yays-Nays-Abstentions)	
Deon Canon	Christopher Johnson
President	Vice-President
Stout Student Association	Stout Student Association



University Student Senate 50th Congress U.S.S. 50.08.02

Date Introduced: October 22, 2019
Moved by: Senator Schwitzer
Seconded by: Senator Leonhard
Sponsored by: Sustainability Council